Raleigh skyline on a clear day with pink flowers in foreground


Apply now for the 2021 Environmental Awards

Raleigh celebrates its environmental rock stars!

Applications are now open for the 2021 Raleigh Environmental Awards.  Each year, Raleigh’s Environmental Advisory Board recognizes individuals, organizations and businesses that contribute to sustainability and climate action in the city. Individuals or organizations can apply to have their work recognized or nominate a project for recognition. This year, Environmental Awards will be given in four categories:

Climate Action Award Raleigh’s Community Climate Action Plan outlines key areas for reductions of greenhouse gas emissions. Awards for climate action can be given for projects which improve water quality, reduce energy consumption, broaden transportation options, or reduce waste.

Business Innovation for Environmental Stewardship Award The winner of this award will be an enterprise demonstrating the business case for environmental stewardship through process improvements that improve environmental impacts or waste reduction strategies.

Community Action Award The recipient of this award will be a volunteer, individual, or non-profit organization working in Raleigh on the stewardship of natural resources, community-building, environmental justice, or conservation. 

Raleigh Environmental Stewardship Award The winner of RESA will be either an individual or organization that has shown environmental leadership and recognizes the relationship and continuity of the environment, economics, and equity or social justice aspects of human society.

Additionally, Raleigh Water will be recognizing a project that protect our drinking water with the Drinking Watershed Protection Award and Solid Waste Services will be honoring creative reuse of materials and fashion sense with the Trashion Awards.  

Applications and nominations for the Environmental Awards can be found below:

Environmental Awards Application

Drinking Watershed Protection Award Application

Trashion Award Application

Eligibility requirements and criteria can be found at raleighnc.gov/environmentalawards





Nicole Goddard